Introduction and request for help.

Hey Everyone,

I'm a new D developer and therefore new to Gtkd. By day I'm an android developer using Kotlin and most of my hobby projects are in Go.

So far I've enjoyed my time working in D. I've been working on this project, https://gitlab.com/kendellfab/rest-scope, a rest testing project much like postman.

So far I've had no problems building this project with DUB. However I want to move over to meson so that I can build it for flatpak. I am finding that I am unable to build with meson.

I've had two issues. First, I was unable to find the dependencies wit this, gtkd_dep = dependency('gtk-d:gtkd', version: '~>3.9.0', method: 'dub'). This dep is added to the dependencies array passed to the executable. The build would fail as it could not find the gsv.SourceView.

I was able to fix this issue, by passing in a directory to the dependency array, such as this. declaredependency(includedirectories: packagedir + '/gtk-d-3.9.0/gtk-d/generated/sourceview'). The packagedir string being set by an option with generating the meson build directory, this is to my home folder .dub directory.

But this created a new build issue with the linker. The linker can not find the source view objects to link with the executable. So again my builds are failing. But I'm unsure where to find the object files for the linker to link in.

Does any one have any insights on how I could get this project to build?

Re: Introduction and request for help.

You do not mention which platform you are working on. For me using Debian Sid, GtkD is an installable package and so all I need is:

dependency('gtkd-3', version: '>= 3.9.0')

having installed the package libgtkd-3-dev.

This doesn't perhaps answer your question, but it hopefully starts a conversation that can end with an answer to your question.

On 10-03-2020 17:57, Russel Winder wrote: